It’s all happening…

Tune in to The Tonight Show with Jay Leno at 11:35/10:35c TONIGHT to catch the band perform “I’ve Got Your Number, Son”!


Official She & Him Store / Amazon / iTunes / Target / Best Buy / Barnes and Noble

After three years since Volume Two, and two since A Very She & Him Christmas, Matt and Zooey are back and better than ever with the release of their third LP. With fourteen songs - 11 originals and 3 covers - packed with numerous special guest appearances matched with their classic, timeless sound, Volume 3 displays the duo at their very best.

What do you think of the new album?

  May 07, 2013 at 11:39am

HELLO GIGGLES VIDEO CHAT KARAOKE: Zooey Deschanel and Abigail Chapin sing “If Only I Could Win Your Love” by The Louvin Brothers

Zooey says…

"I am very honored to have my good friend Abigail Chapin sing with me on this edition of Video Chat Karaoke. Abigail and her sister Lily are the awesome musical duo The Chapin Sisters and they also sing back up for She & Him on tour. They are great singers, great musicians and great people!

Together we sing the Louvin Brothers classic ‘If I Could Only Win Your Love’, later successfully covered by the wonderful Emmylou Harris. Enjoy!

The Chapin Sisters are doing a kickstarter campaign for their new record, The Chapin Sisters: A Date With The Everly Brothers - take a look!

  March 15, 2013 at 09:15am



Zooey. Ink & pencil on paper. 8”x8”. 2013

  March 14, 2013 at 12:00am


She & Him minimalist series

(via color-scheming)

Title: Never Wanted Your Love Artist: She & Him 3,587 plays

She & Him - Never Wanted Your Love

Ladies and gentlemen, She & Him have finally graced us with the lovely first single from their upcoming record, Volume Three. It is now available for purchase on iTunes.

Volume Three comes out on May 7th, and if you act quickly, you may be one of the 500 lucky ones to snag the record in robin’s egg blue colored vinyl. Pre-order it on Merge now!

  March 07, 2013 at 02:04pm

by Billy Kidd for Forbes Magazine, May 2012

So… We’re back!

In lieu of She & Him’s return, it’s only natural that we, too, come back and bring you all the news and everything else coming out as the Volume Three era begins. We’re totally psyched. And we’ve even got a brand new layout to boot! Additionally, an organized tag directory will be coming soon to further ease the navigation of the site. We’re working on that! In the meantime, we hope you dig the new look!

And of course, for any questions, comments, or anything else, please feel free to contact us here. We’ll be responding to you personally!

What do you think of the new look?

  January 31, 2013 at 10:43am

Summer Tour Dates In Support of Volume 3

  • Jun 13 - Ryman Auditorium - Nashville, TN  
  • Jun 15 - Verizon Theater at Grand Prairie - Grand Prairie, TX
  • Jun 16 - ACL Live at the Moody Theatre - Austin, TX
  • Jun 18 - Comerica Theater - Phoenix, AZ
  • Jun 19 - The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas - Las Vegas, NV
  • Jun 21 - SDU Open Air Theatre - San Diego, CA
  • Jun 22 - Greek Theatre* - Berkeley, CA
  • Jun 23 - Hollywood Bowl* - Los Angeles, CA
  • Jun 25 - Red Butte Gardens - Salt Lake City, UT
  • Jun 27 - Harrah’s Stir Cove - Council Bluffs, IA   
  • Jun 29 - Aragon Ballroom - Chicago, IL #
  • July 1 - Hill Auditorium - Ann Arbor, MI #
  • July 3 - Montreal Jazz Festival – Symphony Hall - Montreal, QUE #
  • July 4 - Toronto Urban Roots Festival - Toronto, ON #
  • July 6 - Central Park Summerstage - New York, NY #
  • July 9 - Mann Center for Performing Arts - Philadelphia, PA #
  • July 10 - Bank of America Pavilion - Boston, MA #
  • July 11 - Filene Center at Wolf Trap - Vienna, VA #

* with Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell

# with Camera Obscura

For more information on tickets, please click here. Many of them go on sale tomorrow (1.31) morning, so we highly suggest preparing for the chaos and keeping your eyes peeled!

Which date do you plan on attending?

  January 30, 2013 at 10:50pm

According to Merge:

She & Him announce May release for “Volume 3″

She & Him aka Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward will release their third album of original material, entitled Volume 3, on May 7 (May 13 in UK/Europe). The duo will also be hitting the road for a month-long tour this summer, which kicks off at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville on June 13, and includes a headlining show at the legendary Hollywood Bowl on June 23, as well as an evening at Central Park Summerstage in July. Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell and Camera Obscura provide support on select dates.  A full list of tour dates are below, and ticket presale information is at SheandHim.com.

With fourteen songs – 11 Deschanel originals and 3 covers – Volume 3 is an effortlessly effervescent, bleached-out-in-the-sun pop record. The album features some of the most dynamic, complex songs Deschanel has ever written, allowing for tempo shifts, disco grooves, string arrangements on multiple tracks, and horn flourishes that perfectly suit the She & Him sound.  Produced by M. Ward, and recorded in Los Angeles, Portland, and New York City, Volume 3 features guest contributions from NRBQ’s Joey Spampinato, Mike Watt, Tilly and the Wall, Pierre de Reeder from Rilo Kiley, and Tom Hagerman from Devotchka.

Since the release of the band’s album Volume Two in 2010, much has happened to both She and to Him. Deschanel, whose television show New Girl has cemented her status as a sitcom star, continued to hone her songwriting skills, writing the theme song for her new show, in addition to being nominated for a Grammy for Best Original Song for  the movie Winnie the Pooh.  She wrote songs for Volume 3 during small pockets of downtime while filming New Girl, as Ward toured the world behind his latest solo creation, A Wasteland Companion, which was released to massive critical acclaim last year. Together and separately, the duo has sold over a million albums domestically – a testament to their classic sonic arrangements, their rich, incomparable voices, and their ability to craft pitch-perfect, Brill Building-esque choruses around timeless, universal themes.

Track listing for Volume 3:

1. I’ve Got Your Number, Son

2. Never Wanted Your Love

3. Baby

4. I Could’ve Been Your Girl

5. Turn to White

6. Somebody Sweet to Talk To

7. Something’s Haunting You

8. Together

9. Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me

10. Snow Queen

11. Sunday Girl

12. London

13. Shadow of Love

14. Reprise (I Could’ve Been Your Girl)

Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy. This is all too beautiful, guys! And the incredibly talented Autumn de Wilde has done it yet again with another stunning shot of Zooey and Matt. While we’re personally not too crazy about the cover art (we’re fans of the illustrations on the previous two volumes), it’s the music that really matters, and that’s what we’re most thrilled about. May is so close, and yet so far! Who else is excited?

She & Him - Baby It’s Cold Outside

directed by Elliot Dear

from the album A Very She & Him Christmas

She & Him - Stars Fell On Alabama (cover)

Zooey writes:

I started playing music with Matt Ward in 2006 when we recorded the first She & Him record. Since then I have been so lucky to collaborate with him on four She & Him records, play many many many live shows, and sing with him on his solo M. Ward records. He’s an amazing friend, collaborator and musician – one of the most talented people I know! Here he is with me, playing an old favorite, “Stars Fell On Alabama” on a guitar upside down and backwards. Need I say more?

Stars fell on Alabama was written by Frank Perkins and Mitchell Parish in 1934 and has been recorded by over 100 artists.

Gosh, I really, really missed these two. Curiously, Zooey mentioned that they have “collaborate[d] on four She & Him records”. Could Volume III be coming soon? Hmm…